Gym and Sports Center Saudization: 15% From 18 November 2026

From 18 November 2026, private sports centers and gyms in Saudi Arabia with four or more employees must reach 15% Saudization across 12 sports trainer and supervisor professions, including sports coach, personal trainer and sports supervisor. MHRSD and the Ministry of Sports announced the decision on 24 November 2025. The announcement does not state a minimum salary.
At a glance
| Saudization rate | 15% |
|---|---|
| Applies to | Gyms and sports centers with 4+ workers; 12 sports trainer professions |
| Covered occupations | 12 professions |
| Salary floor for a Saudi to count | Being verified |
| Announced | 24 November 2025 |
| Effective | 18 November 2026 |
| Status | Announced |
| Last fact-checked | 9 October 2026 |
Gym Saudization is a new localization requirement for private sports centers and gyms in Saudi Arabia. From 18 November 2026, establishments with four or more employees must reach 15% Saudi nationals across 12 sports trainer professions. MHRSD issued the decision in partnership with the Ministry of Sports and announced it on 24 November 2025.
What is the gym and sports center Saudization rule?
The rule sets a 15% Saudization rate for 12 sports professions in private sports centers and gyms. The status in StrongYes's rates database is "Announced", because the rule is published but not yet in force.
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Rate | 15% |
| Professions | 12 sports trainer and supervisor professions |
| Applies to | Private-sector sports centers and gyms with 4 or more employees, men's and women's |
| Announced | 24 November 2025 |
| Effective | 18 November 2026 |
| Authorities | MHRSD and the Ministry of Sports |
| Minimum salary | Not stated in the announcement |
At 15%, this is far below the 70% required by the procurement and project management decisions.
Which 12 professions are covered?
The announcement names five of the 12 roles: sports coach, professional football coach, sports supervisor, personal trainer and professional athletics coach. MHRSD's procedural guide lists the rest. Reports of the announcement describe the group as sports coaching and supervisory positions in private sports centers.
Coverage follows the occupation registered for each employee, so a trainer registered under a different code may fall outside this rule, and a mismatch between the registered occupation and the actual duties is a compliance risk. Our guide to mapping job titles to Saudi occupation codes explains how to check.
When does the gym rule take effect?
It takes effect on 18 November 2026, about six weeks after this page was last reviewed. The one-year gap between announcement and effective date is the transition period.
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 24 November 2025 | MHRSD and the Ministry of Sports announce the decision |
| 18 November 2026 | 15% requirement takes effect |
Clyde & Co and DLA Piper both report 18 November 2026. One trade report gives 18 November 2025, which does not match the 2026 date in the other sources. See every effective date in the Saudization calendar, and our update page on the 15% requirement starting 18 November 2026.
Which gyms must comply?
Private sports centers and gyms with four or more employees. Reports of the announcement describe the threshold as applying to establishments employing four or more workers, in both men's and women's facilities. We have not confirmed in the procedural guide whether the four-person count refers to all employees or only those in the 12 covered professions, so confirm this before you rely on it.
How do you calculate the 15% requirement?
Multiply the number of employees in the covered professions by 15% and round. MHRSD guides for other decisions round to the nearest whole number, with halves rounding up. We have not confirmed the rounding rule for this decision, so the table is an illustration.
| Employees in covered professions | 15% of headcount | Saudis needed (half-up rounding) |
|---|---|---|
| 4 | 0.6 | 1 |
| 6 | 0.9 | 1 |
| 10 | 1.5 | 2 |
| 15 | 2.25 | 2 |
| 20 | 3 | 3 |
| 30 | 4.5 | 5 |
On this method, a gym with four trainers would need one Saudi trainer, which is 25% of the team.
What MHRSD says
- 15% Saudization across 12 sports professions in private sports centers and gyms, men's and women's.
- Applies to establishments with four or more employees, from 18 November 2026.
- Issued with the Ministry of Sports. Non-compliant establishments face regulatory penalties set out in the procedural guide.
- Support includes recruitment, training, qualification, employment and job-retention assistance, and priority access to Hadaf programs.
Our analysis
- The low rate means most gyms need one to three Saudi trainers, but the number of qualified Saudi coaches may be the constraint, especially for specialist disciplines.
- Rounding makes the smallest covered gyms the hardest hit: four trainers still means one Saudi.
- With no salary floor published, the guide's counting conditions are the main open question for employers.
What happens if a gym does not comply?
MHRSD states that establishments that do not comply face regulatory penalties, set out in the procedural guide on its website. KPMG's summary of the announcement says legal penalties will apply for non-compliance but does not give amounts. Our guide to Saudization violations and penalties explains how inspections work across decisions.
What should gym operators do before 18 November 2026?
- List your trainers and supervisors by registered occupation and check them against the 12 covered professions.
- Count your employees to see whether you reach the four-employee threshold.
- Calculate your Saudi requirement and the gap against current staff.
- Plan recruitment. Options include hiring Saudi coaches, developing assistants into certified trainers and partnering with sports academies.
- Use support programs. See Saudization support programs for how Hadaf recruitment and training support works.
- Record contracts on Qiwa so that Saudi trainers are correctly counted. See Qiwa contracts and Saudization.
What does the rule mean for Saudi trainers and coaches?
It creates demand for Saudi sports coaches, fitness and personal trainers and supervisors in private sports centers. Employers are likely to look for recognized coaching qualifications and relevant experience. The rule increases demand but does not guarantee any individual a role. Our careers guide shows how to read Saudization changes as career signals.
What does the rule mean for expat trainers?
The rule caps the non-Saudi share of covered trainer roles at about 85% in establishments it applies to, and lower in small teams after rounding. Gyms with fewer than four employees, and roles outside the 12 professions, are outside this decision. Our expat guide explains how to check whether your profession is affected. For the wider sector view, see Saudization by sector.
How does the gym rule compare with other sector rules?
Gyms have the lowest rate among the sector decisions StrongYes tracks, which reflects a rule that is new for the sector and aimed at a defined set of trainer roles.
| Sector rule | Rate | Effective |
|---|---|---|
| Gyms and sports centers (12 trainer professions) | 15% | 18 November 2026 |
| Tourism, chef (phase 2) | 30% | 3 January 2027 |
| Healthcare, pharmacy in community settings | 35% | 27 July 2025 |
| Dentistry | 55% | 27 January 2026 |
| Wellness centers and spas, administrative roles | 100% | 11 May 2026 |
The rates database lists every rule with its threshold and source.
What has MHRSD not published yet?
Three details are not in the announcement or the law-firm summaries StrongYes reviewed, and each one changes how an operator would plan:
- The other seven job titles. Only five of the 12 are named in public announcements.
- A salary condition. Several MHRSD localization decisions only count Saudis above a minimum wage. No floor has been reported for gyms, but the guide is the place to confirm this.
- How the four-employee threshold is counted. All staff, or only covered trainers, gives different answers for a gym with a large front-of-house team and two coaches.
Until those are confirmed, treat any figure for your own gym as provisional.
Common questions about the rate
Is 15% of all staff or only trainers? It is 15% of employees in the 12 covered professions, not of the whole workforce. A gym with 20 staff, of whom 8 are covered trainers, would be measured against the 8, subject to the guide's counting rules.
Does the rule replace Nitaqat? No. Profession rules and the company-wide Nitaqat rating are separate tests set by MHRSD, and an employer can face both.
Can a gym count freelance or part-time trainers? StrongYes has not confirmed how the guide treats freelance and part-time trainers. Our guide to part-time and flexible workers shows how counting works for Nitaqat, but the gym guide governs this rule.
Frequently asked questions
01Which roles are covered by the gym Saudization rule?
Twelve sports trainer and supervisor professions. Five are named in the announcement: sports coach, professional football coach, sports supervisor, personal trainer and professional athletics coach. The other seven are in MHRSD's procedural guide.
02Does the 15% rule apply to small gyms?
It applies to private sports centers and gyms with four or more employees, as reported from the announcement. Smaller gyms fall outside it. Confirm in the procedural guide how the four-employee headcount is measured.
03When was the gym Saudization decision announced?
On 24 November 2025, jointly by MHRSD and the Ministry of Sports. The requirement takes effect one year later, on 18 November 2026, giving employers a transition period of just under twelve months.
04Is there a minimum salary for a Saudi trainer to count?
The announcement does not state one, and StrongYes has not found a salary floor for this decision in MHRSD's announcement or in law-firm summaries. Check MHRSD's procedural guide before assuming that any employed Saudi trainer counts toward the rate.
05Does the gym rule cover women's gyms?
Yes. Reports of the announcement say the rule applies to both men's and women's sports centers and gyms in the private sector, so women's fitness studios that meet the four-employee threshold and employ covered trainers are in scope.
06How many Saudi trainers does a gym with ten trainers need?
Ten covered trainers at 15% is 1.5. If MHRSD's usual half-up rounding applies, that is 2 Saudis. We have not confirmed the rounding rule in the gym guide, so check it before relying on this.
07What support is available to gyms hiring Saudi trainers?
MHRSD lists recruitment assistance, training, qualification, employment and job-retention support, and priority access to programs funded through the Human Resources Development Fund (Hadaf). See the support programs page for how these schemes work in practice.
08Do gyms have a Saudization requirement?
Yes. Sports centers and gyms must reach 15% Saudization across 12 sports trainer professions from 18 November 2026.
Sources
- Clyde & Co: The first Saudisation updates of 2026. Clyde & Co, 2026-02.
- Envoy Global: Saudization rules announced for sports centers. Envoy Global, 13 January 2026.
- DLA Piper: Saudi Arabia announces further Saudisation increases for key professions. DLA Piper.
- KPMG: Saudi Arabia, Saudization requirements for sports centers. KPMG.
- Argaam: HRSD sets 15% Saudization goal for fitness centers, gyms. Argaam.
This page explains Saudi workforce localization rules for general information. It is not legal advice. Rules change, so confirm against the official MHRSD decision linked above and take advice from a qualified Saudi legal adviser before acting. StrongYes is an independent publication and is not affiliated with MHRSD, Qiwa or any Saudi government body. Full disclaimer.
